Finland extended restrictions on internal Schengen borders for two weeks, on external – until August 22

From July 12, restrictions on entry to Finland from Azerbaijan and Moldova will be lifted.

Model of entry into the country, which was adopted by the government last week , has not yet entered into force. The State Council decided to extend the restrictions on the internal borders of the Schengen area for another two weeks in order to prevent the spread of mutations of the coronavirus.

This means that until July 25 inclusively, residents of Schengen countries with a high infection rate cannot come to Finland without a good reason. The list now includes the Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Greece, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Norway, Portugal, France, Sweden, Denmark and Estonia. At the same time, entry into the country as part of a sea cruise from these countries is allowed.

Border control with the rest of the Schengen countries has already been removed or will be removed on July 12. Starting next Monday, Lithuania, Slovenia and Switzerland will be among the safest countries.

The Ministry of the Interior has also extended the restrictions on entry from third countries, that is, outside the Schengen area, until 22 August. This applies, among others, to Russia, Belarus and Ukraine. To enter Finland, residents of these countries need one of the reasons determined by the authorities.

However, some non-Schengen countries have already been included in the green list, from where they can come to Finland without restrictions. These are Bulgaria, Romania, San Marino, Vatican City, Albania, Australia, South Korea, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Macau, North Macedonia, Singapore, Taiwan and New Zealand. From July 12, this list will be replenished with the following states: Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Kosovo, Moldova and Serbia.

From July 26, it is planned to lift restrictions on the internal borders of Schengen. Then the model that we talked about here in this article will work.